Lanzarote is split into 7 municipalities, which form the perfect set to make this island of Martian landscapes and volcanic nature unique. A municipality is an administrative division in the Canary Islands which contains one or several towns and villages.

Discover the bustling capital feel of Arrecife, the tradition and history of Teguise, the red hues and volcanic nature of Yaiza, the magic of Tinajo, the rural essence of Haría, the calm of Tías, and the simplicity of San Bartolomé.


Iglesia de Guadalupe, Villa de TeguiseOne of the largest and most well-known regions in Lanzarote. In Teguise, you will find some of the most popular areas of the island, like Costa Teguise or Famara. Its capital is Villa de Teguise, one of the best preserved historic centres in the Canary Islands [read more].


Camellos en TimanfayaCovers the whole south of Lanzarote and is where you can find popular areas like Playa Blanca, Timanfaya, or the Papagayo Beaches (Playas del Papagayo), among others [read more].


HaríaCovering the north of the island, it is a green area with small towns, where you’ll find many of the island’s tourist attractions [read more].


Castillo de San GabrielIn the central part of the island. A quiet region that is full of attractions. Includes the city of Arrecife, the capital of Lanzarote [read more].


Playa GrandePopular for being the region where you can find the town of Puerto del Carmen. Located in the southeast of the island [read more].

San Bartolomé

San BartoloméOne of Lanzarote’s lesser-known regions. Popular for being the gateway to the island and its rural character [read more].


Ermita de los DoloresThe Tinajo municipality/region is located on the west coast of Lanzarote. It is characterised by its relaxed atmosphere and volcanic landscapes [read more].

On the map

Municipios de Lanzarote